Mr.Beer Community
Cammanron

New guy here.. Booster question

I just started brewing... wife got me a kit last year and I just brewed it last month (everything turned out good, don't worry) and im in the process of fermenting another batch, and I noticed that the Mr Beer website sells the kits with booster, and the one I ordered did not have booster. 

Is this new? Do the previous kits have the booster in the LME? or is it wise for me to add my 'sugars' during the boil or post boil?

I'm really interested in this because my first batch worked out so well.

Thanks

Welcome.

Mr. Beer used to sell the refills without booster.  They added booster to boost the ABV.  IMO, I always use LME (liquid malt extract) instead.  In short, it depends what you bought.  Base refill will be 3.1% alcohol with no additions.  Craft and Seasonal will be much higher.

Take a look at the info in my signature.  TEMPERATURE is critical for a good quality beer.

• Like 1

Isn't the LME part of the refill can? This is what I ordered on Walmart.ca...

I now have 2 LBK's

https://www.walmart.ca/en/ip/mr-beer-european-bonus-collection-complete-brewing-system-beer-kit/6000195343742

I see on the Mr Beer website, the Czech kit has the booster. My kit can't be that old since the best before date is June or July 2018.. the booster addition must be really new.

What would you suggest I do with the Czech kit or even a West coast IPA?

Thanks for your insights ,btw....

999999-791192609767.jpg

The cans contain HME - hopped malt extract.  As the name implies, this is wort that had been hopped before being condensed down to the extract.
LME is liquid malt extract; hops were NOT added to the wort before condensing it down to the "syrup".

There's also DME, dry malt extract.  This is similar to LME but in a dry form. Here's the MRB page that lists the LMEs and DMEs they sell.

Booster is basically corn sugar.  It adds alcohol and a little body to a beer.