Mr.Beer Community
Marion

When to use a "Krausen Kollar"

What beers do you use a "Krausen Kollar" . I am new at making beer and just got a 2 gallon fermenter with one

if you ferment in a big enough fermenter you will never need a collar.  if your fermenter is 2 gallons and you brew a 1.5 gallon batch, it should be able to handle even a very vigorous fermentation.  it's all about the headspace.. or how much room you give the wort to expand before it spews out the top. i try to have about 3 inches of headspace in my buckets and fermenters.

the collar is used to keep the krausen from turning into volcano and blowing out the top of the fermenter by giving it a little extra expansion room.

it isnt the style of beer that causes aggressive fermentations. it is the yeast.  my 3rd mr beer kit was the diablo with some tweaks. i used us04 i think. the yeast was particularly aggressive and my 3 gallon fermenter with 1 gallon of headspace filled with krausen... shot the foam out the airlock and it continued to gush like a volcano for over a whole day.

this is what using a collar hopes to prevent....

I find the Krausen Kollar is best for brews using fruit. Those rascals can get messy real quick.

fruit??? in beer? ptooey!

yeah.. dumping in tons of fermentables when the yeast has chewed through the wort can cause messy fruit volcanoes.

2 hours ago, zorak1066 said:

fruit??? in beer? ptooey!

yeah.. dumping in tons of fermentables when the yeast has chewed through the wort can cause messy fruit volcanoes.