Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
forny

honey

getting ready to start my 2nd batch (bewitching red ale) wanting to add some honey to boost alcohol content can anyone suggest how much without hurting the flavor so much, also should i add it to the wort first then the keg? i was thinking of a half cup of honey and three weeks fermenting time. this might seem a silly question to some of you but i am new to this so please humor me.

I stirred 2/3 cup of honey into the wort after adding the can of BWA. I also only used 3/4 of the pouch of booster so as not to have too little malt percent wise. Turned out awesome.

thanks i am going to try just that, ill let you know how it turns out, happy brewing all !!!!!!!!!!!

gophers6 wrote:

I stirred 2/3 cup of honey into the wort after adding the can of BWA. I also only used 3/4 of the pouch of booster so as not to have too little malt percent wise. Turned out awesome.

That's good to know, and I'll keep it in mind, since I'm interested in using honey, brown sugar, fruit, and other sugars to help flavor my wort and boost the alcohol content slightly.

I wonder, though, if you want to keep the malt percentage more balanced, if you might not want to use a UME in addition to the HME.

It's all a balancing trick, between the hops, the sugar, and the malt. Maybe some more experienced brewers could chime in with suggestions.

FedoraDave wrote:

gophers6 wrote:

That's good to know, and I'll keep it in mind, since I'm interested in using honey, brown sugar, fruit, and other sugars to help flavor my wort and boost the alcohol content slightly.

I wonder, though, if you want to keep the malt percentage more balanced, if you might not want to use a UME in addition to the HME.

It's all a balancing trick, between the hops, the sugar, and the malt. Maybe some more experienced brewers could chime in with suggestions.