Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Clearcut23

Had to pour out half my batch

So today I traded my pontoon boat for another corny Keg and a CO2 cylinder with regulators. I decided to Keg my Mr.Beer High Country Canadian Draft. Before hand I cleaned out my keg with Oxy Clean Free. I rinsed it our 4 times with hot and cold water then I sanitized it using one step. As I was siphoning my beer into my keg I noticed a speck of Oxy clean left on the inside. So I stopped and grabbed a flashlight to investigate and discovered a whole shit load of Oxy Clean left in my Keg. I was pissed needless to say. After thinking about it I decided not to chance it and poured out almost half of my brew and re rinsed the damn keg 2 more times. Any how, whats left of my batch is force carbing right now and since I have never done this before I was wondering if anyone could tell me at what PSI should I pour my beer?

The PSI depends on the temperature of your beer, they type of beer, the length of your beer line as well as your elevation above sea level.

Other than that, a good rule of thumb is a serving PSI of about 12.

I would highly suggest you force carb for a week at the serving PSI of about 12. It's easy to over carb your beer by trying to carb it in a day.

I dont really know what im doing yet so Ive been watching You Tube videos all week. Im force carbing this half batch in about a half an hour at 20psi just because there is so little of it, but next batch will be a week at 12 like you suggested. Thanks!

Just poured at 12 psi. It was like white water rafting. way too high. I even vented the CO2 in my keg and then pressurized it to 12psi and after first pour I decided to go a little lower to around 5 just for starters.

After I put my batch in the keg, I roll the keg as I put in 30psi. Then I let it sit for a day, then I do it again. When I put it in the keg'n'ater, chill, and then I release all the pressure and repressure to about 8 pounds (depending on the beer)