Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Yellow Breeches

Spillage

I cannot seem to be able to pour my wort into the fermenter without spilling some precious wort over the side :ohmy: . Each time I try harder but fail. I'm new to brewing but have been pouring liquids all my life, why is this so hard? The wort wants to stick to the pot even though there is a crisp edge. I need a pot with a pour spout (haven't seen those around) or I need a funnel, but both cost money and I have a very limited budget. If I buy a large funnel, I'll prolly need to sanitize it inside and out.

Is there a good solution?

Ya, spill it then suck ut up with a straw! none wasted, I hope!

Honestly, I always manage to spill alittle too...And Ive noticed the slower I pour, the worse it gets, so I stopped trying so hard and started pouring it in as fast as I could, and I dont lose very much at all..
btw, Welcome to the collective!

Yes, there have been a few here that are "pour" challenged. They invested in the funnel. I've just never had that problem. I pour towards me so I can see exactly how fast it's coming out, and where it's going. If you want, you could sanitize something to be used as a dipper that is a size you can manage. :stout:

I guess you could give the wort a really good stir right before you pour, to try and incorporate and liquefy as much as you can so it doesn't stick to the sides. Otherwise, sounds like a funnel may in order.

another option that I use on my larger batches...
I stir the pot really well, get that little vortex going so that all the "hop and other" chunks go to the center of the pot. Then I use my siphon to drain from the pot. Leave your pot up high, your MB Keg low, and do it that way.
This pic is from a 5 gallon car boy, but the principal is the same...
041810mixedB001.jpg

I spilled a little on my first couple batches too. I have since bought a pot with a pour spout, and that made all the difference for me.