Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
RustyTruck

Favorite bottle to use

Greetings!
I am new to the hobby and have found this forum to be a wealth of information. I have just bottled my first batch of WCPA in 1 liter bottles I was able to scrounge up, and am waiting to get some more ingredients to make a honey wheat.
My question is, what are your favorite bottles to use for bottling. I have access to an unlimited supply of Corona Bottles, but they are clear. Does anyone have experience with using clear bottles, or specifically Corona bottles? I am worried about the beer breaking down in flavor and getting skunky(I find Corona to be very skunky). However, Newcastle Brown is in a clear bottle and it is not skunky. Any thoughts or ideas?

Welcome Rusty Truck,

Clear bottles will have to be kept out of the light. Otherwise they are fine.

My favorites are 16 oz brown flippies and 12 oz brown longneck prycaps.

Keep posting.

I agree with Sham, 16 oz flippies and 12 oz long necks work for me.

if you have access to returnable bottles, they seem to be a little thicker than throwaway bottles. i get 16 oz returnables for the 1.50 deposit

Welcome RustyTruck !

I never used clear bottles so I can't help you there...the only bottles I use are the 12oz long necks, but I would like to try the flip tops one of these days.

Welcome to the Borg, RustyTruck! Good to have you aboard.

I've used 16 oz. flippies that I bought from Mr. Beer, but mostly I use recycled Samuel Adams bottles.

As Sham Addams said, clear bottles will work fine, but you have to keep them in the dark the whole time. Which isn't a bad idea for carbing and conditioning anyway. Even keeping them in a large black plastic garbage bag will keep most or all of the light out.

Good deal on the free bottles!

:cheers: I use sam adams and fat tire bottles they work great for me! just bottled my belgian tripple this morning before work! :chug: :party:

Welcome RustyTruck.