Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Gypsy

Any suggestions for brew day?

So I'm looking to the collective for some recipe suggestions...got 3 batches to do coming up

1. cowboy/golden wheat ume
2. st. patricks/creamy brown ume
3. american devil double ipa

I found my lhbs (?) and want to try mixing dme's and trying different yeasts. I havent veered out of the mr. beer recipes yet, but want to try something new this time. I have no experience with dme's so any help with that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Gypsy wrote:

So I'm looking to the collective for some recipe suggestions...got 3 batches to do coming up

1. cowboy/golden wheat ume
2. st. patricks/creamy brown ume
3. american devil double ipa

I found my lhbs (?) and want to try mixing dme's and trying different yeasts. I havent veered out of the mr. beer recipes yet, but want to try something new this time. I have no experience with dme's so any help with that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

For yeasts, I think my favorites are Nottingham, S-04 and US-05. Nottingham ferments really cleanly, especially at the lower range and it attenuates really well. S-04 and US-05 both ferment cleanly and create a really compact trub.

Since you're already doing all malt, you're starting from a good place. I like beers that are lighter in color, so I tend to use Pilsen or extra light DME.

For #3, I've added a lb of light DME and boiled extra hops. On one of mine, I boiled .5 oz centennial for 45 mins and dry hopped .5 oz of Simcoe. Turned out great.

Thanks for the ideas, I'm heading to the lhbs later to pick up the supplies. I do have one question regarding the dme...is it the same process as ume? About 4 cups of water to mix the dme in?

Gypsy wrote:

Thanks for the ideas, I'm heading to the lhbs later to pick up the supplies. I do have one question regarding the dme...is it the same process as ume? About 4 cups of water to mix the dme in?